Turmoil really does happen…that’s why we need to be prepared

So…most times, prepping seems to be a theoretical exercise.  “How bad could it get?”.  “What’s the worst that could happen?”.  That’s what people say.  They assume that we are preparing for the zombie apocalypse.  But you know what?  Most of the time, it’s life rearing it’s ugly head and snapping its jaws at us.  Case in point – after over 10 years of running a department at a successful community bank, me and my department got outsourced on April 29th.  I am fine, financially and in every other way.  But there were some folks on my team that I worry about.  They lived on a day-to-day basis, with no thought past the next payday.  I feel bad for them.  I pray for things to work out for them.  And I am fine.  If I never get another job (which would suck), I can still feed my family.  Because I have learned basic skills, in terms of preparation, food preservation, etc.  I don’t want to have to use any of them, but it’s good to know that I can.  And it would make me feel awesome if you guys could, too.  So take a moment – visit www.survivalblog.com, or http://www.thenewsurvivalist.com/food_preservation_techniques.html#mbp_toc_22 or many, many others…figure out how to put away a few weeks’ worth of food just in case your boss decides that outsourcing you makes “good economic sense”.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Turmoil really does happen…that’s why we need to be prepared

  1. lzrqstvodin says:

    I own a business. I have owned it for 15 years. For the last 5 to 6 years I have lost about 50% of my income from service. This was due to the companies I did service for that went bankrupt, closed their doors, or don’t call as often. What I have done is a method of survival. I have changed my approach. I am now geared toward the sales and still offer services when there is a need.

    One always needs to reassess a situation if it doesn’t provide the end result of what you desire. You should do this frequently. Things can go awry at the most inopportune time.

    This is where prepping provides a fall back point. Make backups for your backup. There is a greater chance you will be able to overcome an obstacle if you have different methods to deal with it.

    You will never be 100% prepared for all SHTF issues. You will however be more prepared than the person that doesn’t even try.

Leave a comment