Hello world!

Prepping.  I’ve been doing it for a little while now.  At first I tried to keep it secret from my wife.   But once I got to the point where I was spending money on things that we didn’t need RIGHT NOW, I couldn’t do that anymore.  So I told her, and she still thinks I’m a bit crazy.  I just tell her “I’d rather have it and not need it, than need it and not have it”.  I consider it my job, as her husband, to make sure that she’s OK, no matter what happens.

I started this blog to make a record of what I have done in terms of prepping.  I want to share my resources, because they seem pretty solid, and hopefully they will help you out too.  My main source of good info is the Survival Blog (http://www.survivalblog.com/) – tons of good stuff.  If you don’t look at anything else on that site, you need to at least download the “List of lists” (http://www.survivalblog.com/listoflists.xls).

My prepping today consisted of vacuum-sealing 12 pounds of rice and around 7 pounds of beans.  Enough to keep my family alive for a month when combined with stuff we have in our cabinets.  Am I nuts?  Maybe.  But if the SHTF, I will live a month longer now than I would have if today hadn’t happened.  As I look across the room to the lovely and talented Mrs. BigBeefyD, I feel pretty good about what has happened today.

More to come, I am sure.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hello world!

  1. lzrqstvodin says:

    Definition of PREPARATION
    1
    : the action or process of making something ready for use or service or of getting ready for some occasion, test, or duty
    2
    : a state of being prepared
    3
    : a preparatory act or measure
    4
    : something that is prepared; specifically : a medicinal substance made ready for use

    We walk into the future on an unknown road. By making plans before you commence your travel you need to consider most of the possibilities. (you cant know all the results that would make it boring) Wouldn’t it be best if we go with the ability to help ourselves and others that are in need?

    Vodin

Leave a Reply

